news image

March 02, 2020

By Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

For Immediate Release

March 2, 2020 | Washington, DC

National Minority Quality Forum Announces 2020 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health Award Winners

Washington, DC- The National Minority Quality Forum is proud to announce the selection of the 2020 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health. After receiving hundreds of applications from healthcare professionals across the nation, these 40 represent the next generation of thought leaders in reducing health disparities to build sustainable healthy communities.

“Here at the NMQF, we are truly excited about this next class of honorees and recognizing them at our annual leadership summit,” stated NMQF President & CEO Dr. Gary Puckrein. “The 2020 winners are doing amazing things that both better and diversify the healthcare marketplace. I look forward to working with them and making them an integral part of the NMQF family.” 

“I am excited to announce this year’s class of 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health,” said Congressional Black Caucus Health Braintrust Chair Dr. Robin Kelly. “In 2020, a host of unacceptable health disparities still plague our country. These new leaders are on the front lines working to eliminate health disparities, so they don’t impact this next generation. Their fresh ideas, innovative research, and robust advocacy will improve public health outcomes across our nation, and make a critical difference in communities of color that disproportionally feel the sting of health inequity.”

40 Under 40 recipients will receive their award at the 2020 NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and CBC Spring Health Braintrust Gala Dinner on Tuesday, April 28. For more information on the 2020 NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust please visit

2020 40 Under 40 Winners

Norman Ajiboye, MD
Assistant Professor of Neuro-Endovascular Surgery and Co-Medical Director of the Neuro-Endovascular Surgery Fellowship Program, TCU-UNT School of Medicine and Texas Stroke Institute

Ndidiamaka Amutah-Onukagha, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor, Tufts University School of Medicine

Ruth Arumala, DO, MPH, NMCP
Obstetrician-Gynecologist, My Mansfield ObGyn affiliated with Huguley Medical Associates

Binta Beard, ScD, MS
Director, Federal Government Affairs, AbbVie

Ashira Blazer, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, NYU School of Medicine

The Honorable Yadira Caraveo, MD
State Representative, Colorado General Assembly

Meghana Chalasani, MHA
Senior Research Consultant, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Nicole Cooper, DrPH, MPH
Vice President, Social Responsibility, UnitedHealthcare

Damien L. Cuffie, DDS, MPH
Assistant Clinical Professor, Louisiana State University Department of Oral Diagnostic Sciences/University Medical Center New Orleans

Pari Deshmukh MD, FAPA, FASAM
CEO and Medical Director, Balanced Wellbeing LLC

Kemi M. Doll, MD, MSCR
Assistant Professor, University of Washington

Joshua Ellis, MD
Medical Education Fellow, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Travelle F.F. Ellis, MD, PhD
Associate Director, Minority Initiatives, Zimmer Biomet

Nwamaka Eneanya, MD, MPH, FASN
Assistant Professor, University of Pennsylvania

Audrey Escobedo-Escotto, MD, MPH
COO, Emerson Community Clinic

Jose F. Figueroa, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Arika Hoffman, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery, University of Nebraska Medical Center

James Huang, MD, FAAFP
Physician, Unity Health Care

Monique Jindal, MD
Internal Medicine-Pediatrics Physician, Johns Hopkins University

Christen Johnson, MD, MPH
Resident Family Physician, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Rashard Johnson, MS
President of Advocate Trinity and Advocate South Suburban Hospitals, Advocate Aurora Health

Joshua J. Joseph, MD, FAHA
Assistant Professor of Medicine, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Paule Valery Joseph, PhD, RN, MS, FNP-BC, CTN-B
Lasker Clinical Research Scholar/Investigator, National Institutes of Health/ National Institute of Nursing Research

Abraar Karan, MD, MPH, DTM&H
Resident Physician, Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Chad Lewis, MPH
Medical Student, Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine

Marlene Martin, MD
Director of Addiction Care Team, Assistant Clinical Professor, University of California, San Francisco at Zuckerberg San Francisco General

Virgil Miller, MPH

Janelle Nichols, MPH
Director of Programs, Washington Tennis & Education Foundation

LaShyra Nolen, BS
Student Body President, Harvard Medical School

Otis (Shaun) Owens, MPH, PhD
Assistant Professor, University of South Carolina

Muthuramanan “Ramana” Rameswaran, JD, NR-EMT
Associate, Katten Muchin Rosenman and Uwchlan Ambulance Corps

Chaitenya Razdan, MBA
Co-Founder and CEO, Care+Wear

Orriel L. Richardson, JD, MPH
Professional Staff/Health Counsel, Committee on Ways and Means Majority, U.S. House of Representatives

Caroline Robinson, MD, FAAD
Board Certified Dermatologist and CEO, Tone Dermatology

Brandon Risher, MA, LPA, HSP-PA
Psychologist, Risher Counseling & Wellness Center, PLLC

Robert Rock, MD
Family Physician, Montefiore Department of Family and Social Medicine

Karey M. Sutton, PhD
Director, Health Equity Research Workforce, Association of American Medical Colleges

Farah Tejpar, MD
Section Head, Nonsurgical Orthopedics and Sports Health, Cleveland Clinic Florida

Garth N. Walker, MD, MPH
Attending Physician, Jesse Brown Veteran Affairs-Emergency Medicine, Jesse Brown Veteran Affairs

Gerren Wilson, PharmD
Director, Inclusion Strategy and Partnerships, Genentech


About the National Minority Quality Forum

The National Minority Quality Forum assists health care providers, professionals, administrators, researchers, policymakers, and community and faith-based organizations in delivering appropriate health care to minority communities. This assistance is based on providing the evidence in the form of science, research, and analysis that will lead to the effective organization and management of system resources to improve the quality and safety of health care for the entire U.S. population, including minorities.

Media Contact

Keiko Purnell, Special Assistant | 202.223.7560