news image

March 11, 2021

By Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

For Immediate Release

11 March 2021 | Washington, DC

National Minority Quality Forum Announces
2021 “40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health” Award Recipients

2021 nmqf 40u40.png

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The National Minority Quality Forum (NMQF) is excited to announce the 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health for 2021.

“I am honored to welcome our 6th class of 40 Under 40 honorees,” stated Dr. Gary A. Puckrein, President and CEO of NMQF. He continued, “When I founded this organization nearly 25 years ago, I never imagined I would have the opportunity to work with and learn from these young leaders that have been on the front lines, doing the work, keeping us educated, safe and healthy during this coronavirus pandemic.” 

Annually, since 2016, NMQF has selected 40 minority health leaders under the age of 40 who have been leading the charge to better patient outcomes and build sustainable healthy communities.  These leaders are clinicians, patient advocates, researchers and policy makers.  Despite the unexpected trials in health care in 2021, these 40 leaders persevered in strengthening their communities and reducing health disparities. 

“Health disparities have never been more apparent than during the COVID-19 pandemic, and that is why I am so excited to announce the 2021 class of 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health,” said Congressional Black Caucus Health Braintrust Chair Rep. Robin Kelly. “Through research and creative ideas, these young leaders are working to eliminate health inequities and improve health outcomes across the country.” 

The 40 Under 40 Winners will receive their awards during the 2021 NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and Spring Health Braintrust Virtual Summit April 26 to 27. For information and registration, please visit

2021 40 Under 40 Winners

Bi Awosika, MD, FACP, SFHM
University of Cincinnati Health

Melissa Burnside, MD, MHS
Duke University School of Medicine

Martina T. Caldwell, MD, MS, FACEP
Henry Ford Health System

Marlene Camacho-Rivera, ScD MS MPH
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

Magdala Chery, DO MBS
Harvard University

Angel Desai, MD, MPH
University of California Davis

Marvin B. Figueroa
HHS Office of the Secretary

Carlisha Gentles, PharmD, BCPS, CDE
Food and Drug Administration

Janelle Gillings, MPH

Monica Ulhee Hahn, MD, MPH, MS
University of California San Francisco

Akilah A. Jefferson Shah, MD, MSc
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and Arkansas Children’s Hospital

Amber E. Johnson, MD, MS, MBA
University of Pittsburgh

Moby Kazmi, MD
CoPilot Provider Support Services

Vishalli Loomba, MPH
UCSF School of Medicine and UC Berkeley School of Public Health

Junaid Nabi, MD, MPH
Harvard Business School

Samantha Nazareth, MD

Alana C. Nichols, JD, MD

Sudhakar V. Nuti, MD, MSc
Massachusetts General Hospital

Jamaji C. Nwanaji-Enwerem, PhD
UC Berkeley School of Public Health & Harvard Medical School

Michelle Ogunwole, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Brenda Oiyemhonlan, MD, MHSA, MPH, FACEP
The Permanente Medical Group

Oluwaferanmi O. Okanlami, MD, MS
University of Michigan

Sangita Pudasainee-Kapri, PhD, DNP
Rutgers University

Megha Ramaswamy, PhD, MPH
University of Kansas School of Medicine

Anita Ravi, MD, MPH, MSHP, FAAFP
PurpLE Health Foundation

Michael Richardson, MD
One Medical and the Massachusetts Academy of Family Physicians

Charles R. Rogers, PhD, MPH, MS, MCHES
University of Utah School of Medicine

Altaf Saadi, MD, MSc
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Kasandra L Scales, MD, MPH
MidAtlantic Permanente Group

Luis E. Seija, MD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Megan L. Srinivas, MD, MPH
University of North Carolina Institute for Global Health and Infectious Disease

Linda I. Suleiman, MD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Shelly Dionne Taylor, DMD
Harvard University T. H. Chan School of Public Health & Upham’s Corner Health Center

Charles E. Thompson III, MD, MBA, FACS, FASMBS
Clarity Surgical and Weight Loss Solutions

Oluwakemi Tomobi, MD, MEHP
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Jennifer Tsai, MD, M.Ed
Yale School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine

Justin M. Turner, M.D.
TurnerCare, LLC

Jennifer R. Walton, MD, MPH
Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Alexandria Wise-Brown, PhD

Quentin R. Youmans, MD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Download the Full Press Release


About the National Minority Quality Forum
The National Minority Quality Forum assists health care providers, professionals, administrators, researchers, policymakers, and community and faith-based organizations in delivering appropriate health care to minority communities. This assistance is based on providing the evidence in the form of science, research, and analysis that will lead to the effective organization and management of system resources to improve the quality and safety of health care for the entire population of the U.S., including minorities. For more information, please visit

Media Contact
Kelly Ann Collins
(202) 413-1187