news image

March 18, 2024

By Adjoa Kyerematen

WASHINGTON, D.C. (March 18, 2024) —Today, National Minority Quality Forum (NMQF) announced its 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health for 2024 that will receive recognition and awards at the NMQF Leadership Summit on Health Disparities and Health Braintrust during National Minority Health Month in April.

Since 2016, NMQF has annually selected 40 health leaders from minoritized populations under the age of 40 who have been leading the charge to better patient outcomes and build sustainable healthy communities. These leaders are clinicians, patient advocates, researchers, and policy influencers. These 40 leaders have persevered in strengthening their communities and reducing health disparities amid ongoing challenges within the healthcare system.

“This year we welcome the next generation of leaders as we examine progress made over the last 25 years in the fight for health equity to identify opportunities ahead of us,” said Dr. Gary Puckrein, President and Chief Executive Officer at the National Minority Quality Forum. “These young leaders are at the top of their fields representing the perspective of communities that have historically been invisible. Data shows us now that the work of these 40 under 40 leaders will be essential to meet the demand of the emerging, diverse health market.”

“This year’s cohort of health leaders represent the best of the future of care for our nation,” stated Rep. Robin Kelly, Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus Health Braintrust. “Their exceptional leadership and unwavering commitment to equity will undoubtedly inspire generations of providers to strive for excellence in their fields. I am confident that this class of health leaders will elevate the standard of care for patients and build a strong healthcare infrastructure for our country.”

The 40 Under 40 Winners will receive their awards during the 2024 NMQF Summit on Health Disparities and Health Braintrust April 29 – 30, 2024. 

40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health for 2024

Benjamín Aceves, PhD, MPH, MA

School of Public Health, San Diego State University


Chidiebere Akusobi, MD, PhD

Massachusetts General Hospital


Simar Bajaj

Massachusetts General Hospital


Lawrence B. Brown, MD, MPH, MHS

Johns Hopkins University


Taneal D. Carter, MS, MPA

National Comprehensive Cancer Network


Aariel Dees, MD

Medical University of South Carolina


Ashley Ford, MD

Mount Sinai Health System


Aaron Douglas Dotson, MD

The University of Iowa


Guilmate Pierre Fuller, MPH, MCHES, CQIA

UT MD Anderson Cancer Center


Rochelle Garza, JD

United States Commission on Civil Rights


Juan Carlos Gonzalez, MBA, PMP

Meharry School of Global Health


Henry J. Henderson III, PhD



Domonic Hopson, MPH, FACHE

Neighborhood Family Practice


Irogue Igbinosa, MD

Stanford University School of Medicine


LTC Milissa U. Jones, MD, MPH, FAAP

Uniformed Services University


Nathaniel K. Jones, MD, MA, FAAP

Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania


Kamara Jones

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services


Ariel Jordan, MD

University of Michigan


Sandy Juste, MD MSc

Meharry Medical College


William J. Lee, J.D., M.S., MACE

Kershaw Talley Barlow, P.C.


Minghui Sam Li, PhD, MS

University of Tennessee Health Science Center


Alister Martin F., MD, MPP

A Healthier Democracy


Bianca Mayes-Davis, MPH, CHES

Planned Parenthood Federation of America


Adam J. Milam, MD, PhD, FASE

Mayo Clinic


Randy C. Miles, MD, MPH

Denver Health


Antonio Moya, MD, MPH

Los Angeles Department of Health Services


Kimberly Nettles, PharmD, RPH

Johnson & Johnson Innovative Medicine


Robin Ortiz, MD, MSHP, FAAP, DipABLM

NYU Grossman School of Medicine


David Ramirez, MD

Lurie Children’s Hospital, Northwestern University


Emilie Rodriguez, BA, CD, LC

The Bridge Directory


Brittani Saafir-Callaway, PhD, MPH

DC Health


Evan Michael Shannon, MD, MPH

UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine


Nilay S. Shah, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine


Bethany Strong, MD, MS, FACS

University of Maryland School of Medicine


Subhan Tabba, MD, MBA

Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas


Nadine Tavares

Rhode Island Department of Health


Ijeoma Uche, MPH

Birth By Us


Jordee Wells, MD, MPH

The Ohio State University College of Medicine


Elshaddai White, PhD

Black in Cancer


Gabriela Ziccarelli, PharmD, BCACP

Walgreens, Co.